Governance Structure

The MIPLC operates under a compact governance structure comprising three boards to ensure proper management, scientific advice, and feedback from the international scientific and practice community. These boards are, respectively, the Managing Board, the Scientific Advisory Board, and the Board of Trustees.

Managing Board

The Managing Board is the governing body of the Munich Intellectual Property Law Center. It formulates general policy for and manages the affairs of the MIPLC. The Managing Board is composed of four members, representing the cooperation partners Max Planck Society, University of Augsburg, Technical University of Munich, and The George Washington University, respectively.

The Managing Board meets on a monthly basis. It is composed of:

Prof. Josef Drexl, Max Planck Institute, Chair
Prof. Michael Kort, University of Augsburg
Prof. Christoph Ann, Technische Universität München
Prof. Robert Brauneis, The George Washington University Law School

Scientific Advisory Board

The MIPLC Scientific Advisory Board advises the Managing Board on the scientific research program, and especially on the development of the LL.M. program, as well as on financial issues. It is composed of one representative each from the MPI, the UA, the TUM and the GWU as well as five external members who demonstrate recognized expertise in the research areas of the MIPLC.

The current partner representatives on the Board are:

  • Professor Martin J. Adelman, The George Washington University Law School;
  • Professor Reto M. Hilty, Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition;
  • Professor Thomas M.J. Möllers, University of Augsburg; and
  • Professor Philipp Maume, Technical University of Munich.

The external members of the Board are:

  • Professor Antonina Bakardjieva-Engelbrekt, University of Stockholm, Sweden;
  • Professor Niva Elkin-Koren, University of Haifa, Israel;
  • Professor Jean-Christophe Galloux, Université Panthéon-Assas, France;
  • Professor Andreas Heinemann, University of Zurich, Switzerland; and
  • Professor Raquel Xalabarder Plantada, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain.

The Scientific Advisory Board, chaired by Professor Andreas Heinemann, gathers every year in the fall for an in-person meeting in Munich.

Board of Trustees

The aim of the Board of Trustees (Kuratorium) is to promote the relationship between the Center and the general public interested in education and research in Intellectual Property and adjacent areas. The Board of Trustees is composed of representatives from politics, business, sciences, media, and other circles who have special ties to the research concerns of the MIPLC or who can substantially contribute to its support. The members are appointed by the Max Planck Society in consultation with the MIPLC Managing Board.

In 2016, Professor Martin Stratmann, the President of the Max Planck Society, appointed the following members for the six-year term including 2021:

  • Mr. Stephan Freischem, Dipl.-Ing., Patent Attorney, Secretary General of GRUR, Cologne;
  • Mr. Nobuyuki Hamanaka, Consul, Japanese Consulate-General, Munich;
  • Mr. Johannes Heselberger, Attorney-at-Law, European Patent Attorney, Bardehle Pagenberg Partnership mbB Patent Attorneys Attorneys-at-Law, Munich;
  • Dr. Tobias Holzmüller, General Counsel, GEMA, Munich;
  • Dr. Bertram Huber, Attorney-at-Law, Principal IP*SEVA - Intellectual Property for Sustainable Energy Ventures, Backnang;
  • Dr. Hans-Rainer Jaenichen, Patent Attorney, Vossius & Partner Patent Attorney Attorneys-at-Law mbB, Munich;
  • Dr. Kristina Janušauskaite, European Regional Counsel, IFPI European Regional Office, Bruxelles;
  • Dr. Ralph Nack, Attorney-at-Law, Noerr LLP, Munich;
  • Dr. Jochen Volkmer, Head of Trademarks, BMW AG, Munich;
  • Wolrad Prinz zu Waldeck und Pyrmont, LL.M., Attorney-at-Law, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Düsseldorf;
  • Dr. Anna Wolters-Höhne, Attorney-at-Law, Bird & Bird LLP, Düsseldorf.

The Board of Trustees, chaired by Dr. Bertram Huber, gathers every two years for an in-person meeting in Munich.


The rules and regulations of the Max Planck Society stipulate that the scientific research each Max Planck Institute undertakes be regularly evaluated by a "Fachbeirat". Until 2010, the MIPLC had its own Fachbeirat, which met on a bi-annual basis. Following an overhaul of the MIPLC governance structure, the Fachbeirat was abolished. The MIPLC research will now be evaluated as part of Professor Drexl's work by the Fachbeirat for the Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property and Competition Law.